Steering Committee

The Hospital Arts Project Steering Committee is made up of a team of active volunteers who give their time and support to assist with the provision of Arts in the hospital environment. All offer a wealth of knowledge and expertise and are drawn from many walks of life. They include Hospital staff, external arts organisations, Public and Private Companies, and free individuals.

This diverse mixture of committee members gives the Hospital Arts Project many benefits because – depending on skills, experience and expertise – they make their greatest contributions in different areas.

Committee members who work in the hospital environment (Trust, Serco and Octagon) tend to give most help in practical planning, guiding the design process and the installation of projects. They also provide assistance and advice with financial management and more everyday matters such as the writing of the minutes of committee meetings. Those committee members who come from outside the Hospital environment provide help, support and advice on matters concerning arts within the wider community. They network with other organisations, help promote collaborative projects, and bring valuable experience from working outside the hospital environment to the project.

All committee members find themselves collaborating and raising funds for the Hospital Arts Project. They take part in the selection of artists for commissions, exhibitions and form subgroups to manage the successful  completion of projects. There are a variety of other tasks which committee members undertake. These include conducting hospital tours to show visitors the artworks, proof-reading documents and reports, assisting with the installation of exhibitions, attending meetings and assisting with the cleaning of the collections. 

The Hospital Arts Project Steering Committee are:


Jim Clarke
Consultant General Surgeon, NNUH


Richard Drew
Community Representative

Vice Chair

Lilian Hodgson
Patient Representative

Honorary Curator Historic

Nick Levell
(Historic Collections) Consultant
Dermatologist, NNUH


Debbie Cooper
Head of Financial Services, NNUH

Octagon Representative

John Watkins
General manager, Octagon

Nursing Representative

Chris Benjafield
Staff Nurse, NNUH

Serco Representative

Trevor Buckland
Estates Officer, Serco, NNUH

Trust Representative

John Losasso
Chief Librarian, NNUH

Serco Representative

Ian Cunningham
Labour Manager, Serco

Honorary Solicitor
Philip Norton
Partner, Hansells Solicitors,
Trust Representative
Sarah Morter
Infection Control, NNUH