Congratulations to winners of hospital awards

Thirty-four individuals and 10 teams from the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital and Cromer Hospital have just received awards in recognition of their outstanding efforts and achievements. The awards were presented at a special Staff Awards ceremony held at The Forum in Norwich on 22nd October with guest presenter from Anglia Tonight Becky Jago.

The Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust runs an annual awards scheme for its 6,200 staff.  Patients and colleagues have been able to nominate employees in 12 award categories, such as leadership, innovation, patient care and lifetime achievement. 

Chairman David Prior says:   “It’s such a pleasure to be able to recognise those employees who patients and colleagues feel have gone above and beyond the call of duty.  It is also important to recognise those who dedicate their working lives to our hospitals.  The response to the awards was overwhelming with over 650 entries many of them from patients with heart-warming stories to tell.”       

The awards have been sponsored by Serco which provides a range of services at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital, including catering and cleaning.  The Patient Choice Award is backed by the Eastern Daily Press and the Innovation/Best Suggestion award is backed by Octagon. 

A new award was introduced this year to recognise the important role of our medical secretaries and administrative staff.  Called the Unsung Hero award for non-clinical staff, it is sponsored by David Batchelor in memory of his late wife Denise Batchelor who worked as a medical secretary at NNUH for 19 years.  

The award ceremony also recognised those employees who had achieved long service of 25 or 40 years'.  Those receiving 40 year service awards were: Margaret Crawford, Staff Nurse on Kimberley Ward; Christine McKenzie, HR Recruitment Manager; Doreen Shreeve, Advanced Ultrasound Practitioner; David Wagg, Pathology Porter and Sheila Wood, Principal Cardiology Physiologist.

The winners of the Staff Awards 2010 were:
Serco Award
• Gold – Sarah Morter, Infection Control Nurse
• Silver – Sarah Walker, Refurbishment Programme Project Manager, Facilities
• Bronze – David Furse, Volunteer

Team of the Year
• Gold – Thromboprophylaxis Team
• Silver – Home Dialysis Team, Renal
• Bronze – Same Day Admissions Unit
Employee of the Year
• Gold – Kate Wyatt, Specialist Nurse Practitioner, Pain Management Centre
• Silver – Tristan Johnson, Acute Hospital Liaison Nurse Learning Difficulties
• Bronze – Jo Legood, Medical Secretary, Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Unsung Hero – Clinical award
• Joint Gold – Richard Lowndes, Clinical Physiologist / Manager, Physiologist Unit
• Joint Gold – Liz McClagish, Haematology Nurse Specialist, Oncology and Haematology
• Silver – Steve Hume, Deputy Charge Nurse, Emergency Assessment Unit
• Bronze – Susan Fiddy, Staff Nurse, Guist Ward

Unsung Hero – Non-clinical award
• Gold – Linda Cooper, Housekeeper, Kimberley Ward
• Silver – Carrie Nolan, Administration Manager, Rheumatology and Neurology
• Bronze – Kathleen Lewis, Ward Clerk, Easton

Volunteer of the Year
• Gold – Donnie Broom,  Weybourne Day Unit
• Joint Silver – Sally Hodges, Sylvia Mickleburgh, Trish Stockley and Sue Woods and posthumously Judith Hipsey who was part of the team until she sadly passed away in September 2009 – Cromer Dialysis Unit
• Joint Silver – Mary Oliver, Rheumatology
• Bronze – Ralph Richley, Gunthorpe Ward

Links Award for Partnership Working
• Gold – Julia Watling, Training and Development Manager, Training Department
• Silver – Gabriella Cawston & Charlotte Devereux, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
• Bronze – Fast Track Referral Pathway Team.

Leadership Award
• Gold – Mary Edwards, Critical Care Outreach Team Leader
• Silver – Carol Farrow, Head of Pharmacy
• Bronze – Rebecca Hulme, Operational Manager, Head and Neck Services

Best Suggestion/Innovation Award
• Gold – Dr Morné Wolmarans, Consultant Anaesthetist
• Silver – Dr Frankie Swords, Consultant Endocrinologist, Diabetes and Endocrinology
• Bronze – Single Point of Referral Team

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners:
• Professor David Scott, Consultant Rheumatology
• Elaine Freeman, Trust Liaison Discharge Manager
• Mr Keith Tucker, Consultant, Trauma and Orthopaedics
• Alice Lince, Staff Midwife. Ante-natal Clinic
• Sheila Wood, Senior Cardiac Physiologist, Cardiology
• Dr Richard Beach, Consultant Paediatrician, Paediatrics

Patient Choice – Team/Department of the Year

• Gold – Paediatric Diabetes Team
• Silver – Eye Clinic at NNUH
• Joint Bronze – Intensive Care Unit
• Joint Bronze – A&E

Patient Choice – Individual

• Gold – Martin Cameron, Consultant, Obstetrics and Gynaecology
• Joint Silver – Kay Mason, Staff Nurse, Jack Pryor Renal Unit
• Joint Silver – Roma Spinks, Iron Therapy Specialist, Jack Pryor Renal Unit
• Joint Silver – Lucy Russell, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Colorectal/Stoma Care

Monday 25th of October 2010 10:00:42 AM