Winners of Staff Awards 2011

Twenty individuals and teams from the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital have just received awards in recognition of their outstanding efforts and achievements. The awards were presented at a special Staff Awards ceremony held at The Forum in Norwich on 7th October with guest presenter from BBC Radio Norfolk Chris Goreham.

The Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust runs an annual awards scheme for its 6,000 staff.  Patients and colleagues have been able to nominate employees in 14 award categories, such as leadership, innovation, patient care and lifetime achievement. 

Chairman David Prior says:   “It’s such a pleasure to be able to recognise those employees who patients and colleagues feel have gone above and beyond the call of duty.  It is also important to recognise those who dedicate their working lives to our hospitals.  The response to the awards was overwhelming with over 500 entries many of them from patients with heart-warming stories to tell.”       

The awards have been sponsored by Serco which provides a range of services at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital, including catering and cleaning.  The Patient Choice Award is backed by the Eastern Daily Press and the Innovation/Best Suggestion award is backed by Octagon.  Dave Batchelor sponsors the Unsung Hero award for non-clinical staff, such as  medical secretaries and administrative staff.  The award is in memory of his late wife Denise Batchelor who worked as a medical secretary at NNUH for 19 years.  

The award ceremony also recognised those employees who had achieved long service of 25 or 40 years'.  Those receiving 40 year service awards were:

Richard Cracknell, Biomedical Scientist; Julian Gant, Experienced Practitioner in Orthopaedic Theatres; and Patricia Parsons, Nurse Team Leader.

The winners of the Staff Awards 2011 were:
Serco Award
• Winner:
 Operations Centre
• Finalists:
 Darren Sillis, Specialist Dietitian
 Josie Royall, Senior Nurse, Holt Ward

Team of the Year
• Winner:
 Rheumatology Day Unit
• Finalists:
 Holt Ward
 Denton Ward

Employee of the Year
• Winner:
 Dr Prina Ruparelia, Consultant, Respiratory Medicine
• Finalists:
 Francesca Kelly, Senior Occupational Therapist
 Kelly Davis, Ward Sister, Gissing

Unsung Hero – Clinical award
• Winner:
 Stephen Bradford, Theatre Support Worker, Main Theatres
• Finalists:
 Lynn Clark, Health Care Assistant, A&E
 Jonathan Tidman, Nursing Auxillary, Kimberley Ward

Unsung Hero – Non-clinical award
• Winner:
 Christine Waterson, Ward Clerk, Denton Wardf
• Finalists:
 Mark Pointer, MTO, Microbiology
 Matthew Trollope, Web Developer, IT
 Switchboard Team

Volunteer of the Year
• Winner:
 Eve Chandler
• Finalists:
 Ann Chandler
 Colin Websdell

Links Award for Partnership Working
• Winner:
 Dr Jeff Cochius and team, Neurology
• Finalists:
 Lavinia Ganley, MFE Interface Pharmacist, Pharmacy

Leadership Award
• Winners:
 Dr Leisa Freeman, Consultant, Cardiology
 Dr Jennifer Garioch, Consultant, Dermatology
• Finalist:
 Carrie Wingfield, Specialist Nurse, Dermatology

Best Suggestion/Innovation Award
• Winner:
 Dr Fred Pickworth, Consultant, Radiology

Improving Patient Safety
• Winner:
 Helen Dillon, Pharmacist
• Finalists:
 Karen Hinchley, Deputy Sister, NICU
 Kirsty Rowden, Site Manager, Operations Centre

Norfolk and Norwich Improvement Projects (NNIPs)

• Winner:
 More efficient use of emergency theatre time:  Mr Mark Rochester and Team. 

• Finalists:
 Guidelines for the safe use of intravenous drugs for chronic lung infection:  Dr Mark Pasteur and Team

 Better ways of monitoring high dependency patients on Buxton Ward:  Dr Caroline Kavanagh and Team

 Screening and treatment guidelines for delirium in Critical Care:  Dr Akesh Dhrampal and Team

Patient Choice – Team/Department of the Year
• Winner:
 Weybourne Day Unit,
• Finalists:
 Audiology Team
 Docking Ward Team

Patient Choice – Individual
• Winner:
 Rachel Fromings, Sister, Critical Care Complex
• Finalists:
 Nikki Fisher, Gastroenerology Specialist Nurse
 Lucy Eggleton, Physiotherapist

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners:
 Barbara Blagnys, Principal Speech and Language Therapist
 Tony Page, Consultant, Cardiology
 Huw Purcell-Jones, Emergency Theatre Team Co-ordinator, Main Theatres
 Bruce Finlayson, A&E Consultant (retired)
 Elaine Scott, Staff Nurse, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Special Award for ‘An outstanding contribution to the future of Healthcare’:
Dr Andrew Hart, Consultant, Gastroenterology


Monday 10th of October 2011 12:00:37 PM