Winner of hospital awards announced

Ten individuals and three teams from the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital and Cromer Hospital have just received awards in recognition of their outstanding efforts and achievements. The awards were presented at a special Staff Awards ceremony held at The Forum in Norwich on 12th October.

The Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust runs an annual awards scheme for its 6,500 staff and for staff employed by its service provider Serco. Patients and colleagues have been able to nominate employees in 13 award categories, such as leadership, innovation, patient care, research and lifetime achievement.

Chairman David Prior says: “It’s such a pleasure to be able to recognise those employees who patients and colleagues feel have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

“It is also important to recognise those who dedicate their working lives, some of them for 40 years, to our hospitals. The response to the awards was overwhelming with over 500 entries from all staff groups with many also from patients with heart-warming stories to tell. This made it really hard to pick out the finalists and winners”

The awards have been sponsored by Serco which provides a range of services at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital, including catering and cleaning. The Patient Choice Award is backed by the Eastern Daily Press and the Innovation/Best Suggestion award is backed by Octagon. The Unsung Hero award for non-clinical staff, it is sponsored by David Batchelor in memory of his late wife Denise Batchelor who worked as a medical secretary at NNUH for 19 years.

The award ceremony also recognised those employees who had achieved long service of 25 or 40 years'. Those receiving 40 year service awards were:
Hilary Barker, Sister-Main Theatres; Carol Brand, Staff Nurse, Main Theatres;
Denise Cowan, Health Records Clerk, Health Records Library; Ann Peate, Retired from the Day Procedure Unit; David Roberts, Specialist Medical Physics Technician in the Physics Workshop; Gillian Thurston, Admin Officer, Cytology Laboratory.

Serco Award
• Winner
 Carl Ryan, Domestic, Serco
• Finalists
 Ray Moore, Domestic, Serco
 Dale Jackson, Project Manager
 Graham Clarke, Patient Services Co-ordinator

Team of the Year
• Winner
 Health Records Library Staff

• Finalists
 Medical Secretaries, Obstetrics & Gynaecology
 Urology One Stop Clinic

Employee of the Year
• Winner
 Dawn Collins, Deputy Director of Nursing
• Finalists
 Jamie Harris, Team Leader, Pharmacy
 Peter Reuben, Operating Department Practitioner, Day Procedure Unit
 Alison Evans, Antenatal Screening Co-ordinator

Unsung Hero – Clinical award
• Winner
 Sandra Olive, Respiratory Nurse Specialist
• Finalists
 Jean Mackay, MRCP Tutor
 Dr Liam Hughes, Consultant in Cardiology

Unsung Hero – Non-clinical award
• Winner
 Irene Adlington, Data Quality Manager
• Finalists
 Sally Hardwick, Multi-disciplinary Team Leader, Haematology
 Josie Socratous, Ward Receptionist, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Volunteer of the Year
• Winner
 Richard Kemp, Weybourne Day Unit
• Finalists
 Christine Berwick, Paediatrics
 Brian Matthews, Meet and Greet
 Leona Pratt, Contraceptive and Sexual Health Clinic

Links Award for Partnership Working
• Winner
 Cromer Hospital
• Finalists
 Bereavement Team

Leadership Award
• Winners
 Sue Morgan, Head of Womens Health & Paediatric Physiotherapy
• Finalist
 Rachel Cozens, Senior Biomedical Scientist, Haematology
 Joanne Barrell, Administrative Manager, Gastroenterology

Best Suggestion/Innovation Award
• Winner
 David Willis, Radiotherapy Physics
• Finalists
 Paul Creasy & Paul Richardson, Cardiology
 Alison Haynes, Senior Radiographer

• Winner
 Mr Marc Moncrieff, Consultant, Plastic Surgery
• Finalists
 Dr Phyo Myint, Consultant, MFE
 Mr David Broadway, Consultant, Ophthalmology

Patient Choice – Team/Department of the Year
• Winner
 Gissing Ward
• Finalists
 Interventional Radiology Unit
 Coronary Care Unit/Kilverstone Ward

Patient Choice – Individual
• Winner
 Dr David Booth, Consultant, Paediatrics
• Finalists
 Mr Ben Davis, Consultant, Trauma and Orthopaedics
 Sara Shorten, TIA Nurse, MFE

Lifetime Achievement Award:
• Sandra Meaden, General Manager

Monday 15th of October 2012 10:00:53 AM