Winners announced for NNUH Staff Awards 2016

Thirty individuals and 13 teams from the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital and Cromer Hospital have just received awards in recognition of their outstanding efforts and achievements. The awards were presented at a special Staff Awards ceremony held at The Forum in Norwich on 14th October.

The Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust runs an annual awards scheme for its 7,500 staff and for staff employed by its service provider Serco. Patients and colleagues have been able to nominate employees in 13 award categories, such as leadership, clinical teaching, patient care, research and lifetime achievement.

Chairman John Fry says: “It’s such a pleasure to be able to recognise those employees who patients and colleagues feel have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

“It is also important to recognise those who dedicate their working lives, some of them for 40 years, to our hospitals. The response to the awards was overwhelming with over 700 entries from all staff groups with many also from patients with heart-warming stories to tell. This made it really hard to pick out the finalists and winners”

The awards have been sponsored by Serco which provides a range of services at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital, including catering and cleaning. The Patient Choice Award is backed by the Eastern Daily Press.

The award ceremony also recognised those employees who had achieved long service of 25 or 40 years’. Those receiving 40 year service awards at the event were:

Richard Burton, Clinical Engineer, Lesley Crump, Nurse in Older People’s Services, Kathleen Hopewell, Community Midwife, Carol Howman, Ward Clerk on Elsing Ward, Christine Hutton, Associate Practitioner on Earsham Ward

Patient choice – Team Award
Winner – Paediatric Diabetes Team
Silver Awards:
• Cringleford Ward
• Allies Unit (ophthalmology) Cromer

Patient choice – Individual Award
Winner: Tony Phenix, Healthcare Assistant, Acute Medical Unit
Silver Awards:
• Dr Nandu Thalange, Consultant – Jenny Lind Children’s Department
• Len O’Driscoll, Home Therapies Senior Sister – Jack Pryor Renal Unit

Serco Award
Winner – Anna Stasinkova, Domestic, Serco
Silver awards:
• Mike Lotarius Manager – Procurement
• Paul Roberts Grounds Supervisor – Serco

Apprentice of the Year

Joint Winners:
• Sarah McGibbon – Apprentice at Cromer Hospital
• Parris McCormack – Apprentice in Infection Control
Silver Award- Ellie Lonsdale – Apprentice Clerical Support – Rheumatology

Volunteer of the year
Winner: Jane Dryden, Volunteer on Dunston Ward
Silver awards:
• Jenny Louden, Volunteer at Cromer Hospital
• The N&N volunteer reception team

Team of the Year
Winner: EPMA/Pharmacy
Silver Awards:
• PPCI Team in Cardiology (PPCI primary percutaneous coronary intervention)
• The Mortuary Team

Joint Winners:
• Annie Cook, Band 1-4 Career Development
Co-ordinator, Training Department
• Elizabeth Collins, Deputy Sister, Denton Ward


Winner: Helen Willimott – Project Manager for EPMA, winner
Silver awards:
• Sue Coombe – Senior Paediatric Physiotherapist
• Cat Sparkes – Risk and Patient Safety Facilitator

Unsung Hero – clinical
Winner: Carrie Wingfield, Consultant Nurse – Dermatology
Silver awards:
• Dr Gill Gray, Associate Specialist in Medical Oncology
• Susan Kerry, Chief Biomedical Scientist – Pathology

Unsung Hero – non-clinical
Winner: Meryl Hepple, Manager for Patient Services
Silver Awards:
• Ben Goss, IT Technical Support Analyst
• Dean Skutela, Admin Manager and System Lead for Emergency Care, who has just left the Trust to begin his medical training at university.

Lifetime achievement
Winners :
• Erica Balls, Retired Nurse in Dermatology
• Jenny Tomes, Retired Head of Radiotherapy
• Jonathan Pearson, Advanced GI practitioner radiology

Ward of the Year
Winner: Elsing Ward,
Silver awards:
• Heydon/Gunthorpe (stroke) wards
• Gateley Ward

Edith Cavell Nurse of the year
Winner: Siji Sebastian, Ward Manager, Elsing Ward

Edith Cavell Healthcare Assistant of the year
Winner: Sreeja Saji, Healthcare Assistant, Gastroenterology

Clinical Teacher award
Winner: Jonathan Pearson, Advanced GI practitioner radiology
Silver Awards:
• Mr Irshad Shaikh, Consultant Colorectal Surgeon
• Ruth Alderton, Anticoagulation Nurse Specialist

Research Award
Winner: Diabetic Foot Team
Silver Awards:
• The Norfolk Diabetes Study
• Cardiology Research Team


NNUH staff receiving their long service awards

Monday 17th of October 2016 01:41:51 PM