Hospital volunteers give over 500 years’ service to NNUH

Volunteer David Furse and chairman John Fry

Sixty five volunteers at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital (NNUH) have just received awards in recognition of their long service, including one volunteer who has achieved 30 years’ service.
The awards were presented by NNUH Chairman John Fry and Chief Executive Mark Davies at the Volunteers’ Christmas Party held at the hospital. Altogether the volunteers have given 575 years’ service to the hospital.

Sally Knights, Voluntary Services Manager, says: “Our volunteers are invaluable to the hospital and an absolute inspiration to us all. We would like to say a special thank you for David Furse who has worked tirelessly as a volunteer for Hospital Radio Norwich for the last 30 years.”

Mark Davies, Chief Executive at NNUH, says: “We are delighted to be able to recognise our volunteers and their long dedication to our hospitals. Their support enriches the lives of patients and staff across both hospitals and we are very grateful to them.”

There are over 700 volunteers at NNUH who fulfil a variety of roles, such as meeting and greeting patients as they arrive at hospital, supporting patients and staff in the wards and clinics, and providing support to patients at mealtimes. Dementia support volunteers have been introduced to the Older People’s Medicine wards and some specialist roles have also been established such as Reading Aloud, Reminiscence, Breast Feeding Support, Music Therapy and the Community Settle in Service which supports patients at home on day of discharge.

Thirty Three volunteers have received five-year service awards: Barbara Blackman, Jane Dryden, Carolyn Cooney, Cary Shaw, Charles Harvey, Charlotte Bird, Christine Capon, Christopher Springall, Deborah Lawrence, Denis Dyett, Edgar Mendelsohn, Jacqui Dawes, Janet Bennett, Janette Beaumont, Joan McInnes, Joan Read, Justine Whittaker, Keith Montague, Marion Baxter, and Maurice Manning, Valerie De’ath, Michael Duncum, Michael Shenstone, Miriam Wood, Neil Ogilvie, Robert Hoile, Sallie Eastick, Sara Knox, Sheila Kefford, Susan Jones, Susan Prutton, Terry Green, Trevor Needell.

Twenty one volunteers have received ten-year service awards: Anne Norton, Annette Prior, Anthony Denton, Brain Baxter, and Carol Reeve, Charles Harvey, Colin Robinson, Eloise O’Hare, Jackie Brock, Jackie Pond, Janette Mackenzie, John Mosely, Ken House, Kim Cork, Margaret Bevan, Susan Wood, Sylvia Jeffries, Sylvia Mickleburgh, Terry Fen, Valerie Bowen, Liz White.

Seven volunteers have received 15 year service awards: Anne Hawkins, Beryl Best, Christine Berwick, Duncan MacInnes, Hazel Rix, Peter Goodard and Susan Beevor. Two volunteers have received 20 year awards: Daphne Gribble and Paul Arnold. Mary Oliver received a 25 year award and David Furse received a 30 year award..

Friday 22nd of December 2017 10:33:12 AM