Celebrating the contribution of NNUH staff and volunteers  

The outstanding contribution of NHS staff and volunteers was celebrated on Friday (8 November) at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust’s staff awards.

Almost 300 staff and volunteers attended the annual do at OPEN in Norwich, which included long service awards for 55 individuals who have amassed an impressive 1,555 years of service between them.

Twenty-nine individuals and 14 teams also received awards, including Patient Choice winners and staff fundraisers of the year.

Almost 700 award nominations were received from across the Trust and this year’s awards were sponsored by Octagon, Serco and the Norfolk and Norwich Hospitals Charity.

David White, NNUH Chairman, said: “Our thanks go to the excellent individuals and teams at our hospitals who go the extra mile to help patients and colleagues, along with those who have given so much of their lives to our hospitals and to the NHS. The judges had a difficult, sometimes impossible, job to pick out the winners with so many star performers.”

Sam Higginson, NNUH Chief Executive, said: “It has been an honour and a privilege to meet so many worthy winners and to thank them personally for their ongoing efforts to improve patient care.”

“This has been a great opportunity to reflect on everything that our staff and volunteers have achieved and what they continue to do to improve patient care.”

The awards were hosted by ITV News Anglia presenter Jonathan Wills.

Forty-three members of staff were recognised for 25 years of service.

40 years long service

Those recognised for 40 years of service were: Ian Cunningham, Serco Asset Manager, Judith Gowlett, Clinical Research Nurse, Carol Horwood, Chief Cardiac Physiologist, John Howard, Serco Stores Assistant, Erica Knights, Staff Nurse, Judith MacDonald, Staff Nurse, Stephen Moir, Orthopaedic Technician, Yvonne Pointer, Radiographer Diagnostic, Harry Seddon, Unison Representative, Patricia Stiff, Telephonist, Andrew Symonds, Serco Electrical Engineering Manager, Sandi Terry, Sister.

The Patient Choice awards were supported by the Eastern Daily Press.

Partnership Award   – Aylsham Discharge Suite

Apprentice of the Year – Shana MacDonald and Eleanor Lovett

Team of the Year Award – Endoscopy

Ward of the Year – Cringleford Ward

Employee of the Year – Vicki Currie

Unsung Hero Award – Ed Aldus

Unsung Hero – Clinical – Niall Pearcey

Volunteer of the Year – Hugh Darrah

Volunteer Team of the Year – Radiology team

Leadership Award – Carrie Nolan

Fundraising Awards – Lewis Weatherburn

Research Award – Neonatal Research Team

Clinical Teacher – Katy Errington

Patient Choice – Bereavement midwife Kari Kordtomeikel

Patient Choice Team – Dilham Ward

Edith Cavell Award – Rachael Cocker

Lifetime Achievement – Anne Clark, Debbie Laws and Jo Walmsley

Special Award – Infection Prevention and Control Team

Patient Choice winner – Kari Kordtomeikel with Jane Scarfe and Erica Betts

Patient Choice team – Dilham ward

Ward of the Year – Cringleford

Team of the year – endoscop

Monday 11th of November 2019 01:06:28 PM