Winners of NNUH Staff Awards 2017

Thirty-one individuals and 13 teams have just received Staff Awards at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital and Cromer & District Hospital in recognition of their outstanding efforts and achievements. The awards were presented at a special ceremony held at OPEN in Norwich on 20th October.

The Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust runs an annual awards scheme for its 7,500 staff and for staff employed by its service provider Serco. Patients and colleagues have been able to nominate employees in 14 award categories, such as leadership, clinical teaching, patient care, research and lifetime achievement.

Chairman John Fry says: “It’s such a pleasure to be able to recognise those employees who patients and colleagues feel have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

“It is also important to recognise those who dedicate their working lives, some of them for 40 years, to our hospitals. The response to the awards was overwhelming with over 700 entries from all staff groups with many also from patients with heart-warming stories to tell. This made it really hard to pick out the finalists and winners”

The awards have been sponsored by Serco which provides a range of services at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital, including catering and cleaning. The Patient Choice Award is backed by the Eastern Daily Press.

The award ceremony also recognised those employees who had achieved long service of 25 or 40 years’. Those receiving 40 year service awards at the event were:

Daphne Beckett, Medical Secretary; Christine Benjafield, Staff Nurse; Peter Coe, EPA Network Microbiology Manager; Sylvia Cooper, Receptionist; Sheila Crisp, Staff Midwife; Laura Crowe, Sister ENT Outpatients; Jennifer Dunne, Co-ordinator, Linda Faherty, Assistant Catering manager, Serco; Kathleen Hate, Registered Nurse Rheumatology.

Serco award

Winner: Simon Cockshaw, Post Room Porter

Silver awards:

Jessica Neave Kitchen Assistant
Kenny Davies Domestic

Apprentice of the Year

Non-clinical winner: Brogan Henry, Delivery Suite

Clinical winner: Rhiannon Forder, EAUS

Volunteer of the Year

Joint winners: Paul Arnold and Dave Massey

Silver awards:: Sharon Kelvie and the Cromer Dialysis volunteer team

Team of the Year

Winner: Workplace Health and Wellbeing

Silver awards:

IT Department
Cromer Dialysis (including Volunteers)

Ward of the Year

Winner: Edgefield Ward

Silver awards:

GMDU Gunthorpe
Heydon Neurology

Unsung Hero non-clinical

Winner: Helen Dove, Locum Co-ordinator

Silver awards:

Cerys Morey, Datix Systems Administrator
Tracy Oliver, Research Administrator

Unsung Hero clinical

Winner: Debbie Wright, Discharge Co-ordinator

Silver awards:

Ruth Harcourt, Breast Reconstruction Nurse
Mr Nikos Burbos, Consultant Gynaecological Oncologist

Employee of the Year

Winner: Joanne Thomas, Clinical Operations Manager, Radiotherapy

Silver awards:

Louise Laing, Sister, Earsham Ward
Leah Stolworthy, Directorate Operational Manager, Medicine


Winner: Anita Bayes, Sister, Oral Health

Silver awards:

Frances Bolger, Head of Midwifery
Clive Beech, Deputy Chief Pharmacist

Clinical Teacher

Winner: Prof Richard Ball, Consultant in Histopathology

Silver awards:

Patricia Black, Clinical Radiology Lecturer
Rebecca Cozens, Training Manager for Eastern Pathology Alliance

Research Award

Joint Winners: CRTU team and the Orthopaedic Clinical Research Team

Patient Choice individual

Winner: Katherine Duffield, Diabetes Specialist Nurse

Silver awards:

Carla Amaro, Assistant Practitioner, Elsing Ward
Mr Bhaskar Kumar, Consultant Surgeon

Patient Choice team

Winner: Cley Gynae ward

Silver awards:

Hethel Ward
Brundall Ward

Outstanding Contribution to the Norfolk Health System

Winner: Integrated Discharge Team

Edith Cavell – Healthcare Assistant of the Year

Winner: Elizabeth Tyms, Healthcare Assistant, AMU

Edith Cavell – Nurse of the Year

Winner: Anna Ramm, Junior Sister, Cley Ward

Lifetime Achievement


Chris Parfitt, Matron, Respiratory Medicine
John Skrypniuk, Consultant Clinical Scientist, Nuclear Medicine
Peter Coe, EPA Network Microbiology Manager

Tuesday 24th of October 2017 08:59:00 AM